If you dabbled with Google Photos when it was launched last month but decided it wasn’t for you, make sure you also turn photo backup off in your Android phone’s Google Settings menu, or else you’ll continue uploading new pictures to the service. Nashville Business Journal writer David A. Arnott discovered the quirk when hundreds of family photos appeared on Google Photos, even when he’d deleted the pictures and uninstalled the app itself from his phone.

Rather than using its own settings menu to determine backups, Google Photos uses Android’s centralized Google settings menu. If you choose to automatically upload new pictures to the cloud when installing the Google Photos app, those settings will live on even after the app is wiped…

Continue reading…